Junal on the run

WAMP, XAMPP and port # 80 !

Posted on: September 29, 2007

Day before yesterday I reinstalled my OS. So after reinstalling the OS I had to install WAMP [to continue the work] and Skype [to communicate with my project manager]. I was in numb for hours with WAMP. This tray icon won’t get bright anymore ! it kept showing yellow color and localhot didn’t run. I didn’t know what to do. Asked my friends, they couldn’t give me the proper solution. I uninstalled and reinstalled all shit. Nothing worked!! Went to command prompt just to see if I could do anything different way. Tried with “telnet” à”o” à“80” it said port 80 could not be connected. Then I tested port number 80 from WAMP tray icon. It says something like “port number 80 is used by something else <might be skype>”…What?? Skype?!? Then I remembered I read something about port # 80 and Skype!! but where I read it ?? uhmm…ohh I read it in hasin bhai’s blog. I read his post again and found the solution. Oh ya ! by that time I installed XAMPP ! Don’t know why but I just wanted to see if XAMPP works. Because I kept wasting my time to start working! Anyways, I had to quite my skype shit! And then ran the XAMPP. It RAN!!! Thx god I got the release. But hey! Another thing how about if I can run WAMP besides XAMPP?? Crazy idea i know. I know there is no necessity to use both at a time but had curiosity to see if I can make it work somehow. I started WAMP and tested port number 80. It said it was busy with XAMPP. Correct information. So I turned off the APACHE from XAMPP controller and tested the port # 80 again. It said “port number 80 is not actually used”… i know these both shits are same thing ….just with different interface..!!.well my curiosity was gone by that time. YET, I want to find out how to use both WAMP & XAMPP in the same pc. Let say I can turn off and on depending on my use. Any idea? I know it’s unnecessary, just because of my curiosity.

Ok, I uninstalled the XAMPP and stared WAMP again. Because I prefer WAMP than XAMPP. Now it’s running fine …..:)

7 Responses to "WAMP, XAMPP and port # 80 !"

but xampp is really great and you have to configure it very well to enjoy it to the max🙂

Thanks for this. I had the same problem which your solution fixed.

Hi, Thanks for this info. I have installed wamp server …but still apache services are not running .. it was same case with xampp..but at least was able to see error msg (port 80 is busy). With wamp, no error msg. I tried with all options but couldnt get thru. I am using windows xp sp2..not sure any setting still missing.. could you please help out? thanks in advance.

skype…. yes..

thanks

I installed and reinstalled wamp, latest apache and php, but my index.php and all other files show some problems like count, etc, cannot get, error in line no 2, etc, I am a newb, is there any way out? I also get erro ” port 80 is not used”

you should first logout skype then start apache server, then after starting apache you can open skype. it will work.

if you have any such problem please logout from any opened software which are using port 80.

someone has solved this problem (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8463220/apache-does-not-start-in-xampp) who says
Just disabling IIS Express wasn’t enough, to free the port 80, you must disable “WebClient” and “Web Deployment Agent Service” services. Go to Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services.

i tried this and it solved the problem. maybe it can help you.

Leave a Reply

View Junal Rahman's profile on LinkedIn
Subscribe to me on FriendFeed

Follow Me on Twitter

Archives

My photos

Downtown, Ottawa

Dream

Jasper, AB

Jasper, AB

Banff, AB

Folkfest, Bangladesh Pavilion Saskatoon

Lovely Sky

Stunt bikers on summer festival, Saskatoon

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 420,271 hits
