Junal on the run

“I’m Feeling Lucky”??–No, I’m unlucky!

Posted on: December 10, 2007

Today, I was searching a lyric with this title called “you say it best when u say nothing at all” with my FF address bar. My address bar

Result was kinda unexpected, because after pressing “Enter” it brought me into the site directly. Well, By default, when you key in keyword(s) in Firefox address bar, it will search the keyword(s) using Google “I’m Feeling Lucky” option. The “I’m Feeling Lucky” option will load the #1 rank website of the keyword(s) search result, instead of listing matching websites.

But, I don’t want it! I want a list of websites where I can choose the appropriate one. So I would like to change this default configuration of FF address bar. I got help from a site to modify this default settings.

To change the Firefox option is very simple, as follows:-

  1. At Firefox address bar, enter about:config and press ENTER.
  2. At Filter: field, type keyword.url
  3. You should see a Preference name of keyword.URL in the list. Double click it, a “Enter String Value” input box will appear.
  4. Replace the string with:
    http://www.google.com.my/search?q=
    Click “OK” button and done!

And that’s it. Now I won’t be botered by “I’m Feeling Lucky” option. Because I’m unlucky🙂

4 Responses to "“I’m Feeling Lucky”??–No, I’m unlucky!"

For me, it took me to http://www.romantic-lyrics.com/lw52.shtml and I think this is what you ware looking for. So what is wrong?

Any ways, the information for changing the default setting is useful.🙂

there wasn’t anything wrong. but i just don’t want it for next time search. as i said i want a list of choices so that i can choose.

hi, i am always unlucky, because i can not get any thing what i want.

It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my
Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will
share this website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

View Junal Rahman's profile on LinkedIn
Subscribe to me on FriendFeed

Follow Me on Twitter

Archives

My photos

Downtown, Ottawa

Dream

Jasper, AB

Jasper, AB

Banff, AB

Folkfest, Bangladesh Pavilion Saskatoon

Lovely Sky

Stunt bikers on summer festival, Saskatoon

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 420,271 hits
