Junal on the run

Book review: CodeIgniter for Rapid PHP application development

Posted on: January 15, 2008

Well, finally I have finished reviewing this first book. I’m sorry that its being long time since I got the book on my hand. Was really busy with some project deadlines, as a result I couldn’t continue on it after first 3 chapters. Anyways, today I have finished reviewing this book, so let’s see what I have found interesting from this book. Let’s go through each chapter.

CodeIgniter for Rapid PHP Application Development

Chapter 1: Introduction to CodeIgniter: First chapter will give you a good idea how CI can reduce your lots of code comparing to ROW PHP. A little bit idea about Framework as well. Although I felt – it should have been a little bit more and a picture of the author on this chapter was really unnecessary.

Chapter 2: Two minutes work: Setting up a CodeIgniter Site: a very little chapters on how to install CI. I guess CI user guide has got the same thing – although there is nothing much to talk about CI installation.

Chapter 3: Navigating Your Site: when I was reading this chapter, I felt like I wanted to read about Framework concept too earlier. This is a great chapter on Controller and View- it gives some idea about CI’s controller. But I didn’t like writings on “Types of files on classes on a CI site”- because it looks messy. Maybe it should have written more clearly. Except that everything of this chapter were wonderful.

Chapter 4: Using CI to Simplify Database: an excellent description on how Active record saves your time and makes everything organized. Even if you don’t know what is called Active record , this chapter will make you understand it easily.

Chapter 5: Simplifying HTML pages and Forms: Liked all description about HTML view but really wanted to see a complete different chapter on VALIDATION. Writer should have written more on Validation. I found description wasn’t enough on Validation.

Chapter 6: Simplifying Sessions and security: Nicely explained about SESSION and SECURITY. But one thing came in my mind that there should have been some ordered in chapters as we see in the manual. Well it was writer’s choice but still I didn’t see any complete explanation of the CI framework yet!

Chapter 7: CodeignIter and Object: This is the chapter that actually describes how CI works. If you are a newbie I guess you can skip it. This chapter gives you some idea about OOP and a clear idea on “Super-object”.

Chapter 8: Using CI to test Code: Yay!! This is what I really wanted to see. Even if you don’t like other things of this book, I guess you can buy this book just for this chapter! This is a complete description of code testing including Unit test. I didn’t want to use Unit test before just because it was too much time consuming. But I guess CI can make it easier and this chapter adds more on it.

Chapter 9: Using CI to communicate: another great chapter! A clear idea on XML-RPC with a cool example. People, who are not familiar with XML-RPC, will get a good idea about it.

Chapter 10: How CI helps to provide Dynamic Information: well, mainly about helpers. I guess user guide has all these informations.

Chapter 11: Using CI to Handle Files and Images: If you want to know how to handle image and files with CI – this chapter is a great explanation for that.

Chapter 12: Production versions, Updates, and Big Decisions: Very needy information especially for production version. A great discussion on some common errors that are actually often occurred on production version.

Chapter 13: Instant CRUD – or Putting it all Together: A complex and boring chapter. Unnecessary codes without proper explanation. A better description is given in User guide on CRUD. It was really boring to read!

Chapter 14: The Verdict on CI: I liked this chapter. I liked the honesty of the author. I guess title of this chapter says what it is about.

Chapter 15: Resources and Extensions: mainly all needy links that contains information about CI. Well- I guess goggling will give you better results for it.

That’s it! Personally, I like this book for:

  • Chapter 3: Navigating Your Site.
  • Chapter 4: Using CI to Simplify Database
  • Chapter 8: Using CI to test Code
  • Chapter 9: Using CI to communicate
  • Chapter 12: Production versions, Updates , and Big Decisions
  • Chapter 14: The Verdict on CI

I guess these are enough reasons to buy this book. Although CI has one of the strongest documentation but I guess people who want to know about Unit testing with CI, XML-RPC with CI can buy this book. Plus a book is always a better explanation than just the documentation.

I missed one thing that writer should have given a complete example with screenshot. Like a blog tutorial is given in the manual. There are some examples given, but I felt it wasn’t enough. Few more screenshot of the examples should have been taken.

It will be a little bit difficult [as writer said] to read this book if you are a newbie and don’t have any idea about PHP. To read and understand this book you should have some good idea PHP, only then you can get 100% out of this book.

2 Responses to "Book review: CodeIgniter for Rapid PHP application development"

WOW ! A book on CI….

Codeigniter is an excellent and light-weight system to make applications, which have to fact with enormous quantity of data with security purposes for the applications.

Leave a Reply

View Junal Rahman's profile on LinkedIn
Subscribe to me on FriendFeed

Follow Me on Twitter

Archives

My photos

Downtown, Ottawa

Dream

Jasper, AB

Jasper, AB

Banff, AB

Folkfest, Bangladesh Pavilion Saskatoon

Lovely Sky

Stunt bikers on summer festival, Saskatoon

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 420,271 hits
