Junal on the run

Me, little Shakil and…

Posted on: September 30, 2008

We have this common restaurant called “Italy” where we all friends sit to give “adda” in every evening. I really miss this adda after going to Dhaka. Anyways, there is a little boy named “Shakil” who comes every evening in the restaurant. He is the restaurant owner’s son and certainly he is not doing any job there. I guess he just comes here to spend his spear time as his school is off now for Ramadan month. Yesterday, i just wanted to do something, I really like this kid, he looks cute🙂. All other days, he was staying away from me because every time I see him, I ask him to spell something – I know he doesn’t like it!

Yesterday evening, when I saw him, first thing came in my mind was “Shakil, spell thirteen!” and then he would be like – ok, im coming in 5 mins. I was waiting and waiting. After 10 mins, I realized he already left the restaurant. And then after an hour he thought I left, so he came back! But his bad luck I was still there! I became desperate to make sure that I wasn’t a scary person for him. So first I assured him that “don’t worry, if you can’t spell I will help you! ” – He felt a released when I said that🙂 I asked him to bring a notebook and a pen! He went to his dad and his dad was so happy that his son was gonna reinvent the rocket! Anyways…

He was giving his 100%

He was giving his 100%

So shakil, can you spell all the numbers between 1-20? – I asked! Nah, I can only spell from 1-15 , he replied. Then I was like, ok no problem at all, go ahead, and write down all of them! Then shakil started his journey and after finishing them he made 7 spelling mistakes out of 15! Oh by the way, he is a student of 2nd grade. So I dragged him to near me and asked him to give full attention. “shakil you made 8 correct answers – congratulations!” he was so happy at that time😀 “But shakil you made 7 mistakes right? So let’s correct them all – what do you think?”- I asked! “Ok- let’s do it!” – He replied. So I made him to spell all incorrect numbers with me and I was writing one by one! Once I was done, asked him to go through all corrected spellings! He gave his full concentration. And after a while when he was done with reading all corrected spelling, I asked him to write down them again! He started and I can tell you, I realized his memory was sharp! Out of 7 he made only 2 mistakes! And then I corrected him again! Finally, he came up with all corrected spellings! I was surprised and for an unknown reason I was feeling great!

Shakil got his confidence once i said CONGRATULATIONS

Shakil got his confidence once i said CONGRATULATIONS

At the end, I was like now; you are ready to write down all spellings between 1-15? He was like “Sure”! – I really liked his confidence! And then one by one he wrote down all spellings and it was written in a good manner. Of course there wasn’t any mistake!

Today, if I go to restaurant again (which is almost sure), I’m sure shakil wont scare to come near at me and I will love his company again!  Because, he reminded me again that “practice makes perfect!”

Leave a Reply

View Junal Rahman's profile on LinkedIn
Subscribe to me on FriendFeed

Follow Me on Twitter

Archives

My photos

Downtown, Ottawa

Dream

Jasper, AB

Jasper, AB

Banff, AB

Folkfest, Bangladesh Pavilion Saskatoon

Lovely Sky

Stunt bikers on summer festival, Saskatoon

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 420,271 hits
