Junal on the run

Solving sound problem in Ubuntu for Acer aspire 5573 model.

Posted on: February 29, 2008

It feels great after long awaiting moment when you see something that working at last ! I’m in that feelings now 🙂 i was running Ubuntu besides XP ,just because of my sound problem..went through forums and tried several things.Nothing worked !! At last, today Hasin brother helped me to find out the solution. My Acer laptop model is 5573. and i got Realtek ALC 883 sound card. Some following command solved the issue and at last i got my sound playing successfully…….

  1. run : sudo apt-get install linux-backports-modules-generic
  2. Remove volume control.
  3. run : sudo modprobe -r snd-hda-intel
  4. run : sudo modprobe snd-hda-intel

then you are done. just get back to your volume control. it worked for me. hope it does the same for you.

I have got everything running in my Ubuntu. Now it’s time for me to say “Buh-Byez” to Windows. i will write more on this soon.

5 Responses to "Solving sound problem in Ubuntu for Acer aspire 5573 model."

I love hearing music in your ubuntu 😀 heh heh

But if I see u r running on Windows – I will format ur HDD 😀

@hasin bhai : LOL

hey i gotta a same prob wid mah notebook…………but m unable 2 follow ur suggestion can u pls help me out?

Tell me exactly where you are facing problem …

Useful post, great read anyway very interesting.

Leave a comment

View Junal Rahman's profile on LinkedIn
Subscribe to me on FriendFeed

Follow Me on Twitter

Archives

My photos

Blog Stats

  • 428,808 hits